Wednesday, May 15, 2013

.#REVIEW #Giveaway Soul Avenged by @KeriLake




Soul Avenged (Sons of Wrath, #1)
Soul Avenged (Sons of Wrath #1)
by


Paperback, 534 pages
Published January 16th 2013 by Keri Lake
Genre: Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy, Lycans, wolves, Demons, Kick a** heroine,
Goodreads


Passion is blind in vengeance and love ...
Ayden’s suburban home was invaded by a pack of Lycans.
The brutal attack is the only memory she carries of her former life.
Now, one motive burns in her soul:
KILL THEM ALL.
The Sons of Wrath—a brood of vengeance-dealing warrior demons—band with Ayden to hunt the Lycans on Detroit’s most deadly feeding grounds.
Kane Walker should’ve been her easiest kill.
Unfortunately, the newly bitten Lycan has something she wants—clues that may finally lay her past to rest. To reach them, she must be willing to submit to the sensual pleasures awakened by his touch.
Time is running out.
In seven days, Kane will become what Ayden despises most. She can halt his transformation but the antidote requires the ultimate sacrifice. As the beast takes hold, Kane becomes more of a threat.
Ayden must choose between her lust for revenge, or surrender to her enemy and discover a horrible truth.



B&N


*A copy of Soul Avenged was provided by the author, for an unbiased review. No compensation was provided for review. Purchasing from Amazon compensates a very small percentage to this blog. I DO NOT receive any compensation from B&N.





The author has created an exciting installment in the Paranormal/Urban Fantasy genre! Rivaling authors like J.R.Ward. Her writing is fabulous, her characters likable, and engaging. The Plot is spot-on, and let's not forget the main character and her fierceness. What a treat for fans of this genre!
Soul Avenged is on my Best of 2013 list for sure and on my top ten Paranormal Romance/Urban Fantasy List ever read.




Ayden was one strong heroine. She is an Alexi warrior, a group formed to slay Lycans. Although, she has left the Alexi group, due to their corrupt ways, she still pursues Lycans, for revenge. Revenge for what happened to her years ago.

Ayden was attacked by a Lycan, but before she turned into one of them, her blood held a resistance to the Lycan venom that when mixed with the Lywa Antibody prevents that person to change into a Lycan. Instead, she was found by the Alexi warriors and infused with this antibody. These "warriors" take on the Lycan's attributes, in the form of enhanced power, strength etc... From then on Ayden was trained with the Alexi and became second in command, but with a corrupt leader, Ayden decides to flee, knowing full well she will be hunted by the Alexi. Seems once you are an Alexi warrior there is no other option for you, and they do not tolerate abandonment, they will hunt her down and either drag her back or kill her.

Ayden being the smart and skilled heroine that she is, comes up with a plan to avoid being detected by the Alexi, while still on the hunt to kill as many Lycans as possible. The deal she strikes happens to be with some damn, sexy Demon warriors. Brothers who basically have unmatched powers and whom can be contracted for certain jobs. These brothers are sexy, confidant, and sometimes arrogant with each other, as well as others. Ayden is under their protection and hunts down Lycans with them.


When a kill goes down a human is lunch, left for dead, or with an attack wound from a Lycan. In seven days, those who have survived the Lycan attack will be one of them, a foul-hunting machine. 
Ayden comes across a human who has been left by the Lycan group, she knows what he will become, she goes in for the kill, but something in her has been provoked. Seems that touching this human has brought back tidbits from her past, as a human. Memories that were thought to be erased from her mind, forever. Ayden is shocked over this, and decides to use this human as a way to find out what happened to her before she was attacked.

This human is Kane Walker, he was attacked and now is confused over his outcome. With Ayden telling him she will kill him because he will become "one of them(Lycan)". He wonders why she keeps him around and learns of his fate as well as the secrets behind Ayden's past life. Although, he is shunned and kept confided to a room in the Demon brothers mansion, he is slowly seeming to win over Ayden, although, she knows she will kill him at the end of the week. Kane's week is filled with torment from the change his body slowly endures, but his mind is strong and Kane is determined not to let himself become one of them, and if he does, he agrees that Ayden should kill him.

 What ensues is a plot that ensnares you with the interest. We have the Alexi warriors hunting Ayden down, as well as those vile Lycans, who are killing machines. The build-up of Kane's change, and what he will become, as well as a build-up of romance. Ayden's mysterious human past, and let's not forget the Demon brothers! I did enjoy their camaraderie  together. The last half of the book was full steam, action-packed, excitement, and had me enjoying the outcome, of course, except for the death of a character. But, things look up for the group and I only hope with fingers crossed that the author does the second book with the same "group" like setting, including the fan favorites of the group.

To all my readers who love Paranormal Romance or Urban Fantasy this should be the next book you pick up. I loved this book right from the start, The main character is a smart, strong, and  a resilient character. The secondary characters, the Demon brothers are  sexy, strong, and a whole lot of bad a**!! The romance is hot, and the enemies are unrelenting! A super debut, and I'm super excited to learn that Keri will be continuing on with this series, the next book will be one of the Demon Brothers, Logan's book.




5/5+ Stars



Ayden to Kane~

"Ayden grinned. Lycan, you make think the pain you felt last night is over, but it's only just begun." Her tone had a patronizing slap to it."So I'm going to sit back and enjoy the show. And when seven days is up, I'm personally going to remove your spine from your body and feed you to my demon friends." She winked. "Then we'll see whom proved whom wrong."
"Sounds lovely" he muttered,..." 




Don't forget to check out the SOW cover model contest, for the next book in the series! 




Read the first chapter HERE






This giveaway is International.
Prizes will be supplied by author, and this blog has no responsibility for lost, or unfulfilled prizes.
Must fill out rafflecopter form to enter.
Two winners will each receive an E-book of Soul Avenged, Sons of Wrath T-shirt, and coffee mug!
Winners will be notified by e-mail and will have 48hrs. to respond,  if there is no response within 48hrs. I will pick another winner.
         







a Rafflecopter giveaway









17 comments:

  1. This sounds really awesome, but OMG I think I would get confused trying to keep everything straight. That's why I don't read a lot of fantasy because if I need a glossary to keep myself from getting confused it probably won't be great for me. Though, most of those seem pretty self explanatory. This really does sound like something I would enjoy. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. No, actually Amy, it was a very easy read, and flowed really well. I know you would have no probs. with it!

      Delete
    2. You'll have NO problems. And it IS awesome!! Can't wait for book #2.

      Delete
  2. Great review Lisa. It sounds like you really loved this one and Ayden definitely sounds kickbutt. The glossary seems a lot to take in though, no? Thanks for the great giveaway too :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Huh. When I saw the cover I thought of Underworld. Kinda has a bit of that sound to it too. Cool! :D

    ReplyDelete
  4. Wow... just, wow! You really liked this one!!! I will check it out because you say so :D Great review, girlie!!!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Awesome review, this sounds bad-ass! I love the cover too it's got a whole Matrix vibe :) like the chick but with longer hair

    ReplyDelete
  6. Sounds fantastic! Thanks for sharing :)

    ReplyDelete
  7. the fierceness of the main character sounds great.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Great review! Really looking forward to this one!

    Kassandra

    ReplyDelete
  9. Sherri Williamson (SherplusJnA@aol.com)May 18, 2013 at 1:36 AM

    I can't wait to get this book, it is totally the kind of book I like. ;)

    ReplyDelete
  10. Book kicked @$$, so I don't need another ebook, but I WANT THE GOODIES!!!

    ReplyDelete
  11. Samantha NewburyMay 20, 2013 at 4:28 AM

    Great review and thanks for the awesome giveaway :)

    ReplyDelete
  12. awesome giveaway, hope to be one of the lucky ones!

    ReplyDelete
  13. great giveaway fingers crossed I'm one of the winners :)

    ReplyDelete
  14. I have this one on my wishlist!

    ReplyDelete