Friday, November 30, 2012

News You Can Use #5











I started a new feature on the blog, News You Can Use.



I haven't come up with a direct schedule plan as of yet, I'm still testing this new meme. Leave me a comment on your thoughts, thanks!!

I'll be posting news/events in the book world.
Information from Authors, Publishers, Blogger news, Giveaways and anything else that may be helpful to you.
If your hosting an event and want to be part of the news post contact me, leave a comment below or e-mail me directly here pnrurbfantasyreview @ hotmail.com







Author News:

Thea Harrison just unveiled her newest book cover and I love it

An all-new, darkly romantic paranormal saga, in which the fate of existence itself lay in the balance—and the key to victory may rest in the hands of two eternal lovers…

In the hospital ER where she works, Mary is used to chaos. But lately, every aspect of her life seems adrift. She’s feeling disconnected from herself. Voices appear in her head. And the vivid, disturbing dreams she’s had all her life are becoming more intense. Then she meets Michael. He’s handsome, enigmatic, and knows more than he can say. In his company, she slowly remembers the truth about herself…

Thousands of years ago, there were eight of them. The one called the Deceiver came to destroy the world, and the seven came to stop him. Reincarnated over and over, they carry on—and Mary finds herself drawn into the battle once again. And the more she learns, the more she realizes that Michael will go to any lengths to destroy the Deceiver.

Then she remembers who killed her during her last life, 900 years ago…Michael


Goodreads


 




Nikki Jefford




Nicki Jefford

 is looking for bloggers to participate in the Bloody Christmas Giveaway, info below and HERE




 
 
Want to help promote four fang-tastic paranormal authors and gain new followers in the process?

Post at any time between December 1 - 25. A Rafflecopter code will be emailed to you once you
sign up here
.

Entries are simple and easy:
- Free entry for vampire fans
- Tweet about the giveaway
- Follow the host's (your!) blog

One winner will receive all four e-books pictured above. Winner may substitute any of these titles for another by the same author within the same series.



 



Sarah Ballance




Sarah Ballance

is looking for bloggers to help her promote a book:



**If you have a blog (of any type – it doesn’t have to be a book blog) and want a shot at a $25 gift card to Amazon or Barnes & Noble, you’re in the right place. To qualify, all you have to do is help me promote A PROMISE FOR HER LOVE, the new 99 cent Christmas release from Elaina Lee. This is a *sweet romance* suitable for all ages – perfect for the whole family! Ready to start sharing? Here’s what to do.   Find out HERE





Pub News:



In case you missed it here are some new book trailers, Enjoy!!




Opal (Lux, #3)

 




The Madman's Daughter



Blogger News:


It's all about the hops, challenges, and discussions!!




 Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer has once again managed to come up with a great idea, and you all should join!! A TBR pile challenge--yes, please--always great to get a little push to challenge yourself! Sign Up HERE and join in the fun!



Take Control of Your TBR pile



 



Fangs, Wands, and Fairy Dust, a blog site that I recently found is having a great Valentine's Hop Giveaway Link up. Since I'm always looking to find new and different features for my blog, and find new blogs to follow I decided to join up. Interested? Sign up info HERE


FoolsForLuv
 
 
 

 

 
 
 
 

Lets Talk Lets Talk!
 
 
 
Let's Talk w/Smash & Kit is a meme I recently came across. I love the idea
and hopefully I will join in on the discussions, in the future.
 
 
Per: Smash's site 
 
Welcome to the Let’s Talk weekly discussion meme!
Originally hosted by Melissa from i swim for oceans, Smash & Kt took her original inspiration, and made it their own, expanding it to more than just books. Let’s get personal (but respectfully so) and learn more about one another!  Each week, a different question will be posted along with a place to link up your posts and visit other people’s responses. This meme is definitely meant to bring out conversation and meet new people. So, Let’s Talk!
 
 
 
Want to join and Link Up? This Weeks discussion is all about:
  How much time do you think you spend on blogging each week, including commenting on other blogs, participating in events, Twitter/Facebook blog talk, etc? Do you have a time management system that works well for you? We’d love to know!
 
 
 
and
 
Check out upcoming discussions HERE and check out the upcoming discussion idea my pal Kristin @My Parahangover came up with on 12/21/12
Smash Attack Reads
 
 
 
 
              
 
And lastly....
 
Don't forget you have about a week left to enter my Blog Makeover Giveaway
Prizes include a $30 Gift Certificate to Xpresso Design, a copy of Black City or Phoenix
 
 

Thursday, November 29, 2012

.REVIEW: Shadowfell by Juliet Marillier










Shadowfell (Shadowfell, #1)
Shadowfell                 
by
416 pages
Published: September 11th 2012 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
Series :  Shadowfell #1

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy /Magic/
Romance/Adventure
Received Arc Copy from Pub






Sixteen-year-old Neryn is alone in the land of Alban, where the oppressive king has ordered anyone with magical strengths captured and brought before him. Eager to hide her own canny skill—a uniquely powerful ability to communicate with the fairy-like Good Folk—Neryn sets out for the legendary Shadowfell, a home and training ground for a secret rebel group determined to overthrow the evil King Keldec.

During her dangerous journey, she receives aid from the Good Folk, who tell her she must pass a series of tests in order to recognize her full potential. She also finds help from a handsome young man, Flint, who rescues her from certain death—but whose motives in doing so remain unclear. Neryn struggles to trust her only allies. They both hint that she alone may be the key to Alban’s release from Keldec’s rule.

Homeless, unsure of who to trust, and trapped in an empire determined to crush her, Neryn must make it to Shadowfell not only to save herself, but to save Alban.
 
 
 








 
 
 
An adventurous fantasy book, that was highly enjoyable. Shadowfell
was one of those books that whisked you away and had
you routing for the heroine.
 
 






Shadowfell, for me was a fantastic fantasy read. I enjoyed all aspects of the book, even when the plot seemed to trudge along -slower than I expected, this book still held my interest and has me dying for the next book in the series.

Our adventure begins with our main character, Neryn, sixteen and traveling with the only surviving member of her family, her father. Protective of her at first, he slowly is on a downward spiral, and loses control, through his addiction with the drink.

After an awful circumstance leaves Neryn alone a mysterious hero comes and basically swoops Neryn away from the danger. Unconvincing of this hero's agenda, Neryn is always on guard, and even though, this hero named Flint seems to have her best interest at heart, Neryn  is determined to adventure her journey alone. A journey that will take her across a vast land of uncertainty, and emotion. She will face many obstacles along the way, but she is skillful, smart, and has an ability, that will help her face all sorts of creatures, good and bad.

Flint, is a character, that will have you convinced he has Neryn's best interest at heart, but he just may have an underling agenda that will have you convinced he is deceiving her. Reading the parts with Flint, had me falling for him, but I also was convinced that he too, may be after her for her ability, in a evil way. He will come to her rescue, and like breadcrumbs on the journey by the end of the book we learn full well, what his intentions truly are. I enjoyed Fint's character, and found him to be a wonderfully written character.  


Miss Marillier has a way of capturing, and holding your attention, through her words. I was actually captivated and read this book rather quickly. Some parts had me at a little less attention, but I never was bored with the plot or the characters. The story held my interest, and I enjoyed "walking" along the journey that are heroine sets off on. I felt like I was walking along with Neryn, throughout the journey and I found myself routing for her, and carrying her emotional baggage, telling her in my mind which steps she should take, or whom she should trust.
Imaginative, and lovely!


5/5 lovely roses





“It seemed to me it would be better to die standing up to a tyrant than to survive as a tool of his will.”  



" I did not complete the gesture. For there, in a crevice between the rocks at my feet, I saw a tiny plant growing. Three fronded shoots of soft green cradled a single flower no bigger than my thumbnail, a five-petaled bloom, white as first snow, fragile and perfect. So unlikely a survivor. So delicate, to stand against the scourging wind, the biting cold, the drenching rain. It was a place of death and sorrow. Apart from me..."



 

.Book Blast $100 GiftCard #Giveaway: Keegan's Chronicles Trilogy by Julia Crane










Keegan's Chronicles Trilogy Set
Books 1-3


Coexist:
 


Sixteen-year-old Keegan is struggling to keep her huge secret from her friends--she's an elf, descended from a long line of elves that live in secrecy alongside humans.

In elfin society, mates are predetermined but not allowed to meet until they are eighteen. Against tradition, Keegan's brother Thaddeus told her Rourk's name because his visions warned him she'd need Rourk's protection, especially since Keegan will play a key role in the coming war between the dark and light elves.


Conflicted: 
Keegan, is only alive now due to Black Magic, and her bond with her Chosen is broken. She cannot remember Rourk at all.

For the first time, she feels like a normal teenager. She is dating Donald, her long-time crush, and everything seems perfect. But Rourk still feels their bond, and despairs for the woman he was always meant to love.

Keegan's best friend Anna is determined to find a way to use her powers to return Keegan's bond, no matter what it takes. The question is does Keegan even want it?


Consumed: 
Keegan has dealt with a lot over the last two years: Death, black magic and the loss of her bond to her chosen mate. But on her eighteenth birthday, the bond with Rourk returns.

Now, Keegan faces her hardest decision. Tradition requires elves marry at eighteen. If she accepts the path laid out for her, she will be spared a lifetime of physical and emotional pain. But will that life ever really be her own?


Praise:

Really enjoyed this book. The story draws you in, and the characters are engaging, especially Rourk. I've never read a book about elves, so I wasn't sure what to expect. This was really good. Would recommend to anyone interested in a quick, fun, paranormal read. 
-- Amazon Reviewer

I am not one for Elves or Fairies but yeah these Elves RULE! What is not to love? You have an age old prophecy, destined loves, a great family and amazing friends. Not to mention .... Rourk *yummy* All that is left is the amazing way it all is put together into this fantastic story. 
-- Amazon Reviewer

If you pick up this book, I'm sure it will not disappoint, it had everything, it was cute, yet dark..and well that combo just makes for a perfect book on my shelf, Julia has truly written an amazing read. (: 
-- Haley @ Ya-aholic.com


Purchase
Amazon * Nook * iBooks


Author Julia Crane

Julia Crane is the author of the YA paranormal fiction novels: Keegan's Chronicles, Mesmerized, Dark Promise and Eternal Youth. Julia was encouraged by her mother to read and use her imagination, and she's believed in magical creatures since the day her grandmother first told her an Irish tale. Julia has traveled far and wide to all the places her grandmother told her about, gaining inspiration from her journeys to places like Nepal, Cyprus, Sri Lanka, Italy, France and many more. And who knows? Maybe the magical creatures she writes about are people she met along the way.

Julia Crane has a bachelor's degree in criminal justice. Although she's spent most of her life on the US east coast, she currently lives in Dubai with her husband and three children.


Links

Book Blast Giveaway
$100 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 12/9/12
*You need not enter your twitter name for each entry. Simply enter it for the first person you follow and leave the others blank.
 
 
 
 
 
 
a Rafflecopter giveaway
 
 
 
 
 

 
Open to anyone who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent's permission. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

Wednesday, November 28, 2012

..Giveaway News: OPAL {ARC} by Jennifer L. Armentrout



PER,  Jennifer L. Armentrout's Blog! Enter to win!!


Bask in the loveliness that is my Opal author copies. Bask, I tell you!
Since it’s the season of giving and sharing and all that, I thought I’d have a giveaway. You have three chances to win.
Right now, you can pre-order Opal (releases 12/18/12 but I’m sure it will be early)
Amazon
Barnes and Noble










So freaking cool! JLA is having an amazing giveaway on her blog, for these lovelies!! GO. ENTER. NOW. Good Luck, and if you win don't forget who sent ya :)



                                                        ENTER HERE!!

.Cover Reveal+Giveaway: There by Denise Grover Swank


Today, I am featuring the cover reveal for the second book in the On The Other Side series, There.

Love the cover and how it shows the girl with the black dress, but her reflection in the water has the white dress--depicting the two worlds--the one she is trapped in and the one she needs to return too.  
This sounds like a must read, and book #1 is on sale for .99 for a limited time so RUN and pick it up, now, before the price goes up!














There
By Denise Grover Swank 
RELEASE DATE: December 24, 2012

Book blurb:


Julia Phillips’ world is an alternate universe away. Trapped in a land where government leaders want her dead, Julia is forced to run for her life with Evan and Reece, the two boys who brought her here. They’re on their own in a hostile landscape ruled by scavengers and thieves. But Evan is battling a deadly infection, and Julia finds herself racing against time as she tries to find the medicine that will save his life. She and Reece find an unlikely ally—Jo, a girl they free after finding her captured in a bandits’ hideout. As the four travel across the country, Julia has something else to worry about—her memories are slowly being replaced by the Julia of Evan and Reece’s world. Will they find a way to send Julia home before it’s too late? Or will Julia’s body and mind be trapped THERE?






Author bio:


Denise Grover Swank lives in Lee's Summit, Missouri. She writes urban fantasies without vampires and werewolves. She also writes

romantic comedy mysteries set in the south. Denise has six children, three dogs, and an overactive imagination. She can be found dancing in her kitchen with her children, reading or writing her next book. You will rarely find her cleaning.



Author links:


Website | Blog | Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook




Buy links for HERE:






*Special note... the ebook of HERE will be on sale for $.99 on Amazon, B&N, Kobo & Smashwords until FRIDAY November 30th.






Giveaway:


Two giveaways for this book. Here on the blog and on Goodreads!

Goodreads giveaway link: 





a Rafflecopter giveaway










Refracted Light Reviews
Hosted by Refracted Light

.Waiting On Wednesday #19







Hosted By Jill @Breaking The Spine






Hey guys! This week I have two Wow's! One is a fairy tale retelling, which I just received the arc for, Opal. The second is an adult pnr. romance, Sleeping with the Entity, and just checking out the cover and what Kerrylyn Sparks wrote about it-Cupcakes and Vampires-hot and fresh, makes me interested in this one, I mean really, who can resist a yummy cupcake and vamp? ;)


Don't forget to leave a comment and I'll come by and check out your Wow!







Opal
Expected publication: December 18th 2012 by World Weaver Press
 
 
 
 
White as snow, stained with blood, her talons black as ebony...

In this retwisting of the classic Snow White tale, the daughter of an owl is forced into human shape by a wizard who’s come to guide her from her wintry tundra home down to the colorful world of men and Fae, and the father she’s never known. She struggles with her human shape and grieves for her dead mother—a mother whose past she must unravel if men and Fae are to live peacefully together.

Trapped in a Fae-made spell, Androw waits for the one who can free him. A boy raised to be king, he sought refuge from his abusive father in the Fae tales his mother spun. And when it was too much to bear, he ran away, dragging his anger and guilt with him, pursuing shadowy trails deep within the Dark Woods of the Fae, seeking the truth in tales, and salvation in the eyes of a snowy hare. But many years have passed since the snowy hare turned to woman and the woman winged away on the winds of a winter storm leaving Androw prisoner behind walls of his own making—a prison that will hold him forever unless the daughter of an owl can save him
.








Sleeping with the Entity (Entity, #1)
Expected publication: June 4th 2013 by St. Martin's Paperbacks
 
 
 
 
 
 
She has a sweet tooth and a dream.

Meet Daniella Delaney. She’s all ready to open her shop, Heavenly Cupcakes, in one of Chicago’s sleepier districts. But she’s having a hard time convincing the local business association—namely Nick St. George—that she’s a good addition to the neighborhood. Daniella hopes that her famous red velvet cupcakes will be enough to melt any man’s heart. But Nick is no ordinary man. He’s got fangs.

He has a constant craving...

As leader of the Vamptown clan, Nick has no intention of letting Daniella breathe new life into his old haunts. But something about her leaves Nick hungry…for more. He can’t control her mind like other humans, a trait that makes Daniella irresistible. Could it be that, for the first time in centuries, Nick has met his match? Love is always a force to be reckoned with. But can this vampire have his cake and eat it too?
 

Tuesday, November 27, 2012

.Cover Reveal:The Midnight Spell by Rhiannon Frater + Kody Boye








I have a new cover reveal by one of my favorite Indie authors, Rhiannon Frater. This time Rhiannon is teaming up with Kody Boye for The Midnight Spell. The cover is another great design by the talented Claudia from Phatpuppy Art!




 

The Midnight Spell
Publication date: February, 2013

Cover designed byPhatpuppy Art.








Best friends since kindergarten, Adam and Christy have always been the perpetual outsiders in their small town in Texas.  The other kids call Adam gay and Christy a witch.

On both counts the bullies are right.

Their junior year in high school seems destined to be the same old same old until Christy decides to cast a love spell for Adam at the midnight hour. The next day an alluring and mysterious boy enrolls at school and sets hearts a flutter, including Adam’s. Meanwhile, Christy’s mad crush on the handsome football player Ian seems to be going nowhere fast and her witch puberty is making her life miserable.

When a great evil arrives in town that threatens everything they hold dear, the best friends realize that finding a boyfriend is the least of their worries. Soon Adam and Christy will have to battle a force of darkness that has killed in their town before, and will again.


 

AUTHOR BIO'S
 
Rhiannon Frater is the award-winning author of the As the World Dies trilogy (The First Days, Fighting to Survive, Siege,) and the author of three other books: the vampire novels Pretty When She Dies and The Tale of the Vampire Bride and the young-adult zombie novel The Living Dead Boy and the Zombie Hunters. Inspired to independently produce her work from the urging of her fans, she published The First Days in late 2008 and quickly gathered a cult following. She won the Dead Letter Award back-to-back for both The First Days and Fighting to Survive, the former of which the Harrisburg Book Examiner called ‘one of the best zombie books of the decade.’ Rhiannon is currently represented by Hannah Gordon of the Foundry + Literary Media agency. You may contact her by sending an email to rhiannonfrater@gmail.com.

Author Links:

Kody Boye was born and raised in Southeastern Idaho. Since his initial publication in the Yellow Mama Webzine in 2007, he has gone on to sell nearly three-dozen stories to various markets. He is the author of the short story collection Amorous Things, the novella The Diary of Dakota Hammell,

the zombie novel Sunrise and the dark fantasy novel Blood. His fiction has been described as ‘Surreal, beautiful and harrowing’ (Fantastic Horror,) while he himself has been heralded as a writer beyond his years(Bitten by Books.) He currently lives and writes in the Austin, Texas area.





.Cover Reveal: Crossfire by Laura Bradley Rede




I have a new cover reveal for you today Crossfire book #2 in the Darkride Chronicles! Check it out and check out those glowing baby blues!




 
Title: Crossfire (Darkride Chronicles, #2) 
Author: Laura Bradley Rede 
Genre:  Paranormal Romance/ Young Adult 
Cover Designer Once Upon a Time Covers  
Expected release date: January 2013 
Links to find the book: www.darkridechronicles.com 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Summary
 
It’s hard to move on when someone you love dies – especially if that someone is you. But that’s exactly what Cicely Watson is trying to do: move on, away from the sunlit life she knew and into her life as a vampire. It’s the only way to protect her friends, and her only hope of being with the guy she loves. Now that Ander can control the wolf inside him, Cicely is determined they will finally be together – even if their natural instincts tell them to tear each other apart.   
But when Ander meets a new girl with a power he can’t resist, Cicely fears she saved his life only to lose his love. And what about her own feelings for Luke Marianez, the handsome vampire prince? She always claimed dark, brooding Luke simply wasn’t her type, but can she still deny the fire between them now that she’s his kind? When the enemy captures someone she loves, Cicely is forced to choose. Can a heart that stopped beating start loving at last? Or will true love be caught in the crossfire?    
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Bio: 
 
Laura Bradley Rede grew up the oldest of nine kids in a small town in Maine. She now lives in a little hippy-punk neighborhood of Minneapolis with her wonderful partner, their three amazing children, one Great Dane, one dachshund, and four city chickens. She is a winner of the Writers of the Future Award for fantasy and science fiction and the author of the YA paranormal romance DARKRIDE, as well as many YA short stories. She often quotes Bela Lugosi, the original Dracula, who said “I have never met a vampire personally, but I don’t know what might happen tomorrow.” After all, a girl can dream.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Monday, November 26, 2012

.News You Can Use #4







I started a new feature on the blog, News You Can Use.

I haven't come up with a direct schedule plan as of yet, I'm still testing this new meme. Leave me a comment on your thoughts, thanks!!

I'll be posting news/events in the book world.
Information from Authors, Publishers, Blogger news, Giveaways and anything else that may be helpful to you.
If your hosting an event and want to be part of the news post contact me, leave a comment below or e-mail me directly here pnrurbfantasyreview @ hotmail.com







Author News:




Beth Revis, author of Across The Universe, A Million Suns, and Shdes Of Earth is having a fantastic giveaway on her blog, you should really check it out HERE



Share the Love of YA



Cheri Coyler is looking for bloggers to participate in her Birthday Bash for her book-Embrace one year anniversary join and you can be entered to win a giveaway! Check out all the deets HERE






Blogger News:

A few blogger's have come together to start a new event:

Per Kimba the Caffeinated Reviewer's blog


Cambria Hebert



 I am very excited to share with you an event to warm up those cold winter nights in February.
Beginning January 27th and ending March 1st
 

Hosts:
Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer
Christy @Love of Books
Veronica@Mostly Reviews
Heidi @ Rainy Day Ramblings
Cambria @Cambira Hebert
We will be bringing you some of our favorite
Fiery Hot Reds to warm your Cold Winter Nights.

There will be giveaways, author interviews and tons of fun!
Each week one of us will host the event!

NOW for The BEST PART...
you can join in the fun and sign up to share
your favorite Fiery Hot Reads (YA and mainstream only), authors, books and since it's a hop we recommend a giveaway.


How to Join?
 See the full post HERE on Kimba's blog! 


Reading Romance

is looking for arc reviewers for the book
A Spirit Of Love By Morticia Knight, interested? See the post HERE

book cover


The Book Smugglers


have recently published a A Public Service Announcement: , on there "Smuggler's Stash & News" post about how they were basically taken advantage of from a prominent blog designer. Read the full post HERE, and don't let yourself fall victim-

The Book Smugglers




The Bookish Babe and The Autumn Review as well as two other blogs have a great meme, that I recently joined

 
Its a great place to post your smexy reviews once a week or once a month, or once in awhile, whatever you decide.
Books can be romantic, pnr romance, or erotica. Then hop over to the other Frisky Fall participants and read the smexy reviews and find a great book, or maybe not so great book. 18 and over, only.

The girls will add your blog to this meme just contact them or leave a comment below and  I will pass the info over.
 
The Bookish Babes













Deals:


Amazon is having a Cyber Monday sale and they have some great deals on paperback-hardcover-and audio books. See the complete list here  Cyber Monday Deals


Some books included are below- all listed are $6.00 and under

{no e-copies}

Product Details Product Details Product Details Product Details  Product Details   Product Details

Product Details Product Details Product Details

Product Details