Tuesday, July 31, 2012

Book Tour Review/Giveaway: Wake by Amanda Hocking

BB Book Tours

Wake (Watersong, #1)Wake (Watersong #1)
  by Amanda Hocking
Expected Pub: Aug 7, 2012 by St. Martin’s Press

Beautiful. Fearless. Dangerous. They’re the kind of girls you envy; the kind of girls you want to hate. Strangers in town for the summer, Penn, Thea, and Lexi have caught everyone’s attention, including the eye of practical Harper. But it’s her sister, Gemma, they’ve chosen to be part of their group.

Sixteen-year-old Gemma seems to have it all – carefree, pretty, and falling in love with the boy next door. But her greatest passion has always been the water. She craves late night swims under the stars, where she can be alone yet belong to the sea. Lately she’s had company. Penn, Thea, and Lexi spend their nights dancing, singing, and partying on the cove–and one night Gemma joins them. When she wakes up groggy on the beach the next morning, she knows something has changed.

Suddenly Gemma is stronger, faster, and more beautiful than ever. As she uncovers the truth about her new mythical powers, Gemma is forced to choose between staying with those she loves or entering a dark world brimming with unimaginable secrets.


“Watch out!” Gemma screamed, and Harper slammed on the breaks just in time to stop herself from driving over Penn and Thea.

For a minute, neither Harper or Gemma said anything, not that Harper could hear anything over the pounding of her own heart. Penn and Thea just stood directly in front of the Sable, staring through the windshield at them.

When Lexi knocked on window next to Gemma, they yelped in surprise. Gemma glanced back at Harper, as if unsure what to do.

“Roll down the window,” Harper said hurriedly, and Gemma complied. She leaned forward and forced a smile at Lexi. “Sorry about that. We didn’t see you there.”

“It’s no problem.” Lexi smiled broadly, oblivious to the rain pouring down her blond hair. “We were just looking for directions.”

“Directions?” Harper asked.

“Yeah, we got a little lost, and we wanted to go back to the Bay.” Lexi leaned her slender arms on the car and looked down at Gemma. “You know how to get down the Bay, don’t you? We always see you there.”

“Uh, yeah.” Gemma pointed straight ahead of them. “Just go three blocks down, then make a right onto Seaside Avenue. That’ll take you right there.”

“Thanks,” Lexi said. “Will you be down at the Bay tonight?”

“No,” Gemma and Harper said in unison, and Gemma shot her sister a look before going on, “It’s no fun to swim in all this rain.”

“Why not? The water’s still wet.” Lexi laughed at her own joke, but Gemma didn’t say anything. “Oh well. I’m sure we’ll be seeing you around anyway. We’ll keep any eye out for you.”

Lullaby (Watersong, #2)

Lullaby (Watersong, #2) - the second book in the Watersong series follows Harper and  Gemma as they go even deeper into a dark new world.
Coming November 27, 2012

Amanda Hocking : I live in Minnesota with my dog, two cats, two fish, and my roommate/assistant/platonic lifemate, Eric. I actually live in Austin, a.k.a. SPAMTown, USA. They invented SPAM here, and the town is quite proud of it. (Here’s a vlog with a fun tour of the SPAM museum: here.)
I do many things, most of them lame and boring, but the thing I get paid to do is write young adult books.
All three books in my Trylle Trilogy - Switched,Torn, and Ascend - were originally self-published, but were re-released with St. Martin’s and Pan Macmillan internationally with new bonus content in early 2012. The trilogy has also made the USA Today Bestseller list, the New York Times Bestseller list, and was recently optioned for a film by Media Rights Capital with District 9 screenwriter Terri Tatchell adapting the books for screen.
St. Martin’s and Pan Macmillan recently acquired my new young adult four-book series Watersong, with the first book Wake coming out in August 2012. My zombie series, The Hollows, is being adapted into a graphic novel by Dynamite.
I also enjoy Red Bull, Jim Henson, Batman, Jane Austen, Star Wars legos, and I absolutely hate long walks on the beach out of my intense fear/hatred of wet sand.


So, at first I was super excited to read this book, and see what kind of excitement Amanda Hocking would put into a mermaid story, but I was mistaken, because although they are similar to mermaids, this book is actually about Sirens- the kind from Greek Mythology, which for me was an even better concept. Greek Myth. is a favorite of mine and the Sirens, have always been an interesting part of Greek Myth.

We start this book with a pretty basic normal start. Two teenage sisters living with their dad, in a seemingly normal life. Although, their mother is in a group home, due to an accident, everything else about them seems normal.

Sister#1 Gemma- is an amazing swimmer, and is basically a fish out of water. She loves to train and swim on a daily basis. Her training and hard work is a way to maybe someday get into the Olympics

Sister#2-Harper- is the older of the two, who will be heading off to college after the summer. She works at the library, and she basically has the mom duties at home, cooking, cleaning, and watching over her younger sister. Even though Gemma is old enough to take care of herself. Harper plays the over protection card with Gemma, and although we know why, she acts up

They live in a ocean front town, that becomes overpopulated with tourist during the summer, and this summer three beautiful girls show up. These girls come across as mysterious and overwhelming at times. Overwhelming in the sense that they basically walk around like they are "it". Of course, they basically are "it" but I'll get into that later...

Gemma is our lead girl and she is all about swimming day and night. She loves the freedom and escape she feels from it, she especially loves night swimming, although most people don't agree of her going out at night, she can't resit. We also see the dynamics of this family and how Harper basically gives up her enjoyment, working hard on household chores, she actually seemed to me, alot older for her age, and barely has a social scene this summer, although there is a semi-love interest, with Daniel, a free spirit of sorts, who is funny and caring. Daniel, who was a funny an enjoyable part of the book. I just wish Harper sees it before it's too late.
They have great banter, together, but deep down inside we know why Harper doesn't want to pursue him, yet.... (hopefully) 

The first part of the story we learn about Gemma, her relationship with her sister(the good and bad) and her sister's bff Alex, he seems like a pretty good guy for Gemma.
Gemma goes out one night and sees the three beautiful girls  dancing around on shore, laughing, singing, and more. Gemma seems a little curious about them, but her sister Harper's words ring off in her head as a reminder to stay away from them but sometimes curiosity will get the better of you and eventually, Gemma is lured into the sirens circle, not fully understanding them, or the ramifications of not listening to what they request from her. Soon, Gemma goes thru changes and must now make choices, and those choices are not always her own. The second part of the story was so much better than the first half of the book, we learn more of the mystery behind what's really going on in this sleepy, oceanfront town, and how frightening Sirens can actually be!

Ok, I'll stop there because I really don't want to spoil it for you. 
Although I enjoyed  Wake, I felt at times the story dragged out a little, in the beginning  and middle, but I did love the ending, the best, because of the action. I mean don't get me wrong, I did enjoyed reading this book and look forward to reading more from this series.  This book is left with a cliffhanger, but it's not too bad. I look forward to continue on with the series. 
4/5 stars

BB Book Tours

Enter below for an ARC giveaway
US Only
Fill out Rafflecopter form below
Ends 8/7

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, July 30, 2012

Cover Reveal /Giveaway: Colonization by Aubrie Dionne

Release Date: Nov 7, 12


Finding a new home has never been so dangerous.
Andromeda has spent all seventeen years of her life aboard a deep space transport vessel destined for a paradise planet. Her safe cocoon is about to break open as Paradise 21 looms only one month away, and she must take the aptitude tests to determine her role on the new world and her computer assigned lifemate. As a great-granddaughter of the Commander of the ship, she wants to live up to her family name. But, her forbidden love for her childhood friend, Sirius, distracts her and she fails the tests. The results place her in a menial role in the new colony and pair her with Corvus, “the oaf”.
But when Andromeda steps foot on Paradise 21, her predestined future is the least of her worries. Alien ghosts from a failed colonization warn her of a deadly threat to her colony. And when Sirius's ship crashes on the far ridge in an attempt to investigate, she journeys to rescue him with Corvus.
Andromeda now must convince the authorities of the imminent danger to protect her new home. What she didn't expect was a battle of her own feelings for Sirius and Corvus.
Can she save the colony and discover her true love?

Author Bio:
Aubrie Dionne writes science fiction fantasy with romantic elements. Her writings have appeared in Mindflights, Niteblade, Silver Blade, Emerald Tales, Hazard Cat, Moon Drenched Fables, A Fly in Amber, and Aurora Wolf. Her books are published by Inkspell Publishing, Entangled Publishing, Lyrical Press, and Gypsy Shadow Publishing. She’s also a professional flutist in New England.
Please visit her website: www.authoraubrie.com
Twitter: @authoraubrie

Cool Key Ring!!

Open to US/UK residents only
1 cool keyring
Giveaway is from publishing com. and is not this blog's responsibility.
Good Luck!!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, July 27, 2012

I miss you guys!!!! :(

Hey everyone, I just wanted to let you know that I have been on hiatus from my blog, due to a family emergency. Things should be back to normal soon and I should be back to visiting and posting very soon. Thank you for understanding and continuing to supporting me and my blog.

I miss everyone and I miss seeing all the great blogs and posts out there. Hope to see you soon!

Thanks again ~Lisa/@Silverlight00


Tuesday, July 24, 2012

Book Tour Review: Unguarded by Ashley Robertson

Unguarded Tour Banner Unguarded Tour




Kindle Edition, 245 pages
Published July 1st 2012
Paranormal, angels,

Guardian angel Selene was so close to becoming an archangel—the supreme of all beings—until she fell in love with Cole, a forbidden dark one. Once she discovers her vampire lover has been kidnapped and the only way to save him is by abandoning her number one priority—Caitlyn, her human charge—there really is only one answer in Selene’s mind, even though leaving Caitlyn unguarded will most likely cause Selene to fall from grace.

But her choice to save Cole doesn’t come without a price…and now Selene is racing against time to not only save her dark lover, but find a way to keep Caitlyn alive as well.

With the help of a new vampire ally, Luke, Selene will push her diminishing angel abilities to the point where her very existence lies in the balance. Now threatened with the chance of becoming a fallen angel or even dying, Selene can only pray she’ll have enough time—and good grace—to save the ones she loves.



Cole waved his hand. “But what about your consequences? If you keep this up, you may lose…” He sighed. “Everything.”
“I may have already lost everything”—my tone sounding subdued. “This might be the last time you ever see me, and this is how you want it to go down?”
“What do you mean by that? Your archangel would never destroy you.”
“No, you’re probably right about that, but it isn’t fully up to him—”
“If that happens, I’ll find you!” he shot back with a sharp tone. “If you become fallen, I’m still going to love you.” He scooped me up in his arms and his lips crushed mine.
I savored the kiss for a moment longer than I felt comfortable. After all, the heat from that kiss would fuel me for the treacherous journey ahead. My hand cupped his cheek, feeling his jawbone beneath the soft flesh. “I love you, Cole. Always.”

Ashley Robertson resides in sunny Orlando, Florida and loves reading and writing about everything urban fantasy and paranormal romance. When she isn’t writing you’ll find her spending time with family and friends, training in her home gym, traveling and exploring new places, drinking fine red wines, and making gourmet coffees with her Nespresso machine. Visit her website to learn about her upcoming releases, guest blog posts, and featured giveaways at: www.AshleyRobertsonBooks.com





    Google +


Selene is an angel destined to become an archangel, who oversees and protects her human charge, Caitlyn. Selene has fallen in love with a vampire named Cole. Angels and vamps are not allowed to be together, but that doesn't stop these two. With so much at stake we learn the ramifications of falling for  a forbidden love. Selene is at risk within her kind and may never become an archangel. Cole is captured by a demon and now Selene may put everyone at risk including her human Caitlyn, by teaming up with another vampire, Luke to try and save everyone. Luke is a character who seems to be a better fit with Selene and a nice love triangle would of been great to see, although you do see jealousy spring up between these guys.

Unguarded was a well written, action-induced read with only a few speed bumps along the way. The only gripe I really have and I'm sure by now the author is in the mist of writing it, would be a prequel to this book. A little backstory of exactly how Cole and Selene meet and fall in love would really be a great addition to this story. I also felt at times that Selene would go to great lengths for her love Cole, but the one she is supposed to go to great lengths for, and protect, Caitlyn, is basically left to her own defense. Now, remember Selene is an angel who only should be doing good and helping her human, not exactly the case here when she is trying to do her best to save Cole, the most. All in all though, I will say the story was a different take on the paranormal aspect and I did enjoy reading this quick-paced read.

Friday, July 20, 2012

Guest Post and Giveaway: Author Krystal McLaughlin

The Willows

Life is easy when you have everything you want; great friends, a boyfriend who loves you, a happy family that supports you, brothers that both protect and annoy you. I had all of that… once.

That was before the accident. That was before the murder. That was before… The Willows.

Evelyn Magwire now has a choice to make. Does she turn her back on the mysteries that have consumed her life, or does she face the darkness and find the truth? When her brother comes up missing, the choice is made for her. Forced on a path where her friends become her enemies and her enemies become her friends, Evie learns that the changes happening to herself are the scariest of all. She’s not sure she will ever be the same again… Because some changes are forever… and bloodlust… never dies.


  Guest  Post  

Hello Everyone!
I am so excited to be introducing not only myself, but also my books to you all. My name is Krystal George and I have also written under the name Krystal McLaughlin. I am an avid reader of young adult books - mostly I prefer the paranormal, but I am a sucker for a good romance. I have published the first two books in The Enchanted Island Series - The Witches Lottery and A Dragon Forsaken. If you like magic, mystery, and a fast paced story, these books are for you! My newest book, The Willows, explores the real love between siblings and how far you would go to save the ones you love; even if that takes you into a dark world of vampires and bloodlust.
As a writer, it was easy for me to choose paranormal. When you create something out of the realm of normalcy, you have complete control over your characters, your environment, and your story. You don't have to conform to the rules of reality and that is enough to propel any story in my head onto paper. I have written real life and may publish those stories in the future, but for now, I love to live in the possibilities of the unknown!

I, myself, am very family oriented and you will find a lot of those ties in my books. I am the proud mother of a beautiful daughter, the lucky step mother of a promising young girl, and have another on the way!! I have loved vampires and faeries as long as I can remember and believe that magic is real - it's just a matter of looking for it and believing. I have a horrific fear of Orca's and an ongoing love for Harry Potter!!

Today, I have exciting news... My fourth book, Guardian of the Realm: A Faerie Tale is set to be released within the next four weeks. In anticipation of this occasion, I would like to offer all of you a chance to win an ebook copy of each of my books! With the help of Lisa, two lucky winners will be awarded!

For more information on my books, you can find me on:
Barnes and Noble
twitter @witcheslottery
FB - Krystal McLaughlin

I am really excited and hope that you all take this opportunity to enter into the worlds I have created! I am looking forward to sharing them with you.

Let me just say first, how awesome is that cover? I really like it! Look at those eyes an the blood running out of her mouth, totally cool!    
Thanks for stopping by Krystal I  loved the guest post!
O.K. I know you want me to clam up and do the giveaway, now, right? Alright here it is...

The Willows             The Witches Lottery        A Dragon Forsaken

2- Winners will win all four e-books listed above, directly from Krystal

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Cover Reveal: Shift by Raine Thomas

SHIFT (Firstborn #2)

By Raine Thomas

Having the ability to shapeshift, Sophia is familiar with change. But even she feels the rising tension in her homeland.

A shadowy male and deadly beast reside in their midst. The births of the newest Kynzesti loom. Hostile Mercesti continue to hunt for the Elder Scroll, and a traumatized female is too afraid to use her abilities to stop them.

Topping off Sophia’s stress is Quincy, the male she’s convinced can’t stand her. She rues the loss of their friendship, but can’t figure out how to move past it. She’ll soon learn, however, that mending that rift bears more significance than she ever imagined.

The search for the Elder Scroll takes on unexpected urgency, and Sophia finds herself in a race across the mainland. To stop the Mercesti led by Eirik, she and her companions must get past their differences and unite against them. If they don’t, Eirik will acquire the immense power he seeks, and two of the beings Sophia loves most will die.

Raine Thomas
DEFY (Firstborn Trilogy, Book 1) - NOW AVAILABLE

Thursday, July 19, 2012

Review: Snow White & The Huntsman by Lily Blake

Snow White and the Huntsman

Snow White and the Huntsman

Paperback, 240 pages
Published June 5th 2012 by Poppy (first published January 1st 2012)
0316213276 (ISBN13: 9780316213271)
Copy provided by- Personal Purchase

A breathtaking new vision of a legendary tale. Snow White is the only person in the land fairer than the evil queen who is out to destroy her. But what the wicked ruler never imagined is that the young woman threatening her reign has been training in the art of war with a huntsman who was dispatched to kill her.


 Fast-paced fantasy adventure -quick enjoyable read based on the movie.

Since I hadn't seen the movie yet, I wanted to read the book first. But, I really didn't know this book was based on the movie before I bought it.

We start the adventure based on the Snow White fairytale  by the original works of the Brothers Grimm.

King Magnus is killed on his wedding night, by the hands of his new wife Ravenna. Queen Ravenna then imprisons Snow, and takes over the kingdom. Ravenna is powered by magic, and needs beautiful girls, to steal their youth, and beauty to stay young and beautiful herself. After, many years Ravenna learns Snow White's heart will sustain the Queen's beauty forever, so the Queen set's out to fetch Snow from the dungeon. The Queen's brother goes to the dungeon to get Snow, only to be attacked by her and she flees into the Dark Forest.
Entering the Dark Forest is a death sentence, few have survived, but Snow manages to get lucky, although, I wouldn't call it luck per se. She passes out after a brief encounter with a drug-like plant. Meanwhile, back at the castle the Queen is irate and sends her brother and some forces to find and recapture Snow, with the help of a man who has actually survived trekking through the forest. The Huntsman, a drunk who is promised something in return for Snow, sets off with the Queen's men but as he sees Snow for the first time, he changes his mind and winds up helping her instead of the Queen. Now, they must escape this deadly forest or die trying.

Although, I would of loved to see more from this book as in the way of more elaborate scenes and settings it didn't disappoint or sway me from not seeing the movie. I adore fantasy novels, movies, etc.  I also love the scenes, special effects, etc. in fantasy worlds. I'll be looking forward to the movie, as the book does not depict every detail in the actual movie.


Wednesday, July 18, 2012

Waiting On Wednesday #4


Expected publication: September 18th 2012 by Gallery Books

Lucy Weston tracks down the novelist Bram Stoker in her search to reveal the dark force who made her a vampire--and regain her humanity in the process.In the steampunk world of Victorian London, Lucy Weston, a character in "Dracula," seeks out Bram Stoker to discover why he deliberately lied about her in his popular novel. With Stoker's reluctant help, she tracks the creature who transformed her from the sensual underworld where humans vie to become vampires to a hidden cell beneath a temple to madness and finally into the glittering Crystal Palace where death reigns supreme. Haunted by fragmentary memories of her lost life and love, Lucy battles her thirst for blood as she struggles to stop a catastrophic war that will doom vampires and humans alike. Ultimately, she makes a choice that illuminates for her--and for us--the true nature of what it means to be human.

After reading Something Strange and Deadly, I found myself really enjoying the whole Steampunk genre, so I will be checking out more Steampunk reads and since I fell for this cover and blurb this is my Wow. Set in the Victorian era, in London, with Vampires, sounds right up my alley!


Tuesday, July 17, 2012

Interview: Katie Jennings Author of The Dryad Quartet Series

Firefight in Darkness (Dryad Quartet #2)Breath of Air (Dryad Quartet #1)


Of Water and Madness (Dryad Quartet #4)                                                                                        

A Life Earthbound (Dryad Quartet #3)


Check out the trailer for the series!


1) Tell me a little about yourself?

I’m a mid-twenty-something year old girl with an imagination for days and a supportive husband who thinks I’m a colossal nerd. I write because I love it, and because breathing life into characters is the greatest escape I’ve ever found. Most of my time is spent puttering around online, editing my latest book, or feeding people food to my cat. I live just north of Los Angeles, and enjoy reading fantasy and romance novels, watching Once Upon a Time, playing around on Photoshop, and finding new music to fall in love with. I believe in, above all else, happy endings.

2) When did you decide to start writing, and how did you come up with the idea for your books?

I started writing as a hobby when I was thirteen or fourteen, but The Dryad Quartet is the first full book series I’ve written. 

I began formulating my ideas for the Dryad Quartet with the basic premise that I knew I wanted to write about people who could control the elements.  I knew I wanted specific characters for each element, Air, Fire, Earth and Water, and that they would be responsible for maintaining the balance of our planet.  From there I started researching into mythology and took much of my inspiration from that, utilizing characters such as Mother Earth, Father Sky, the Muses, the Fates, etc.  I brought them all together and then decided I wanted the entire series to be set in modern times, in our own world, essentially.  I myself prefer fantasy that is relatable that way; with places and people that we ourselves can understand but is made extraordinary by the fantasy element in the story.  So while the characters themselves may live in a fictional land, Euphora, they still interact with our world.

3) Explain to my readers what your books are about, and why we would enjoy reading them?

The Dryad Quartet is a contemporary fantasy series revolving around the fictional land of Euphora, where beings inspired by Greek mythology exist to preserve the balance of nature and human life, and to protect the living from the evil residing in the Underworld.  Take a journey into a world where Mother Earth and Father Sky exist, secretly hidden from human awareness, and yet crucial to the creation and stability of our world.  They are joined by those who control the elements, the Dryads, as well as the Fates, Muses, and Furies, all of whom play an integral role in preserving Earth and guarding those who inhabit it.

The books are geared toward readers who love fantasy, romance, adventure, mystery, and Young Adult books.

4) As an author, what would you say is the most difficult part of writing promoting or writing?

 The most difficult part, without a doubt, is marketing.  Writing comes naturally; it’s a fun and exhilarating experience for me.  But when I got into this I didn’t know the first thing about marketing or how to promote myself.  I tried to research it a little bit, but I really jumped in feet first hoping I could somehow make it all work out.  Let’s just say I’ve learned A LOT in the last few months since I released my first book.  And really, I’m still learning.  I think every author who chooses to self-publish goes down this road of trial and error, joy and heartache.  It’s a never-ending battle to fight to stay above water.  But, I would be lying to myself if I didn’t say that it was all so worth it, especially when fans contact me and tell me how much they love the books.  It’s what keeps me going.

5) What has been your inspiration, when it comes to writing?

People are my inspiration, without a doubt.  I love delving into different personality types and exploring traits and flaws and quirks.  I refer to my astrology handbook frequently when brainstorming for a story, and try and make my characters feel real and personable.  I love characters that are the furthest thing from perfect, and strive to accomplish that in each book I write.

Other than that, music is another big inspiration.  My newest book that I will be releasing in August (unrelated to the Dryad Quartet) was completely inspired and based upon one of my all time favorite songs.  I took what the song meant to me and built an entire story around it, and then found other songs to supplement my emotions about the characters I had created.  Adele and Florence and the Machine are huge inspirations to me, as well as Jason Mraz, Fleetwood Mac, and Elton John.

6) Favorite books read, so far this yr?

I had the pleasure of reading this EXCELLENT book series called The Dresden Files by Jim Butcher.  My friend forced them on me, but I’m so glad he did.  They are about a professional Wizard living in Chicago who deals with paranormal events, vampires, werewolves, zombies, etc.  Not only are the books hilariously funny at times, they are also disturbingly scary, which is a unique blend I have never read before.  The main character, Harry Dresden, is one of the best literary characters I have ever read about.  He’s witty, sarcastic, chivalrous, daring, and oh so nerdy, and I just fell in love with him from the very start.

7) What is your latest project?

I just recently finished and am editing a family dynasty fiction novel. It is about a prestigious hotel family; an American empire that has its roots in the Industrial Revolution and its home in the posh Upper East Side of New York City. But the family’s past comes back to haunt the newest generation as their great grandfather’s suicide from nearly sixty years earlier is suddenly discovered to have been murder. Throw in a lot of hidden motives, lies, more murder, and a complex cast of characters that weave together to form the great Vasser hotel family. It’s a bit darker and more adult than the Quartet books, and runs more along the vein of a romantic/mystery/thriller novel.

 Thanks for stopping by my blog, Katie, It was a pleasure learning about you and your series. Much success to you!

Image of Katie Jennings