Monday, May 4, 2015

#NewRelease Closely Guarded Secret by Natalie Money





Many might envy Alixandra Quinn. She rubs shoulders with the rich and famous at glitzy society balls and fund-raisers as a photographer for a popular magazine. But, do the envious notice Ali always goes home alone? She has cut herself off from personal relationships and emotional entanglements. It’s a strategy to cope with her past, and for ten years, her strategy has worked.

That is, until she meets Bryce Steede, a young and bold Silicon Valley entrepreneur. When Ali becomes the center of his attention, suddenly her world gets turned upside-down. She may have convinced herself that life is fine the way it is, but he is determined to break down her carefully constructed walls, free her mind and body, and show her pleasures that she couldn't have imagined.

As Ali navigates through this uncharted journey of self-discovery, she must find the balance between her head and her heart. Is Bryce just another heartache waiting to happen? Will a secret from her past come back to haunt her? Or will Ali make peace with her past and find true happiness . . .


I awaken with a jolt, thinking I’ve fallen out of my seat. As usual, when I fly, I end up scrunched all the way down on the seat as far as I can go. If I wasn’t wearing my seatbelt, I’d be on the floor. Did we hit something? Confused, I sit up, trying to assess the situation only to notice we’re in some awful turbulence. Angry, dark, purple to black rain clouds surround us. My heart starts pounding in my chest. The plane rocks side to side, bouncing us all over the sky. I pull out my earbuds hoping to hear the Captain’s voice saying everything’s okay.
Bryce pries my hand off the armrest and interlocks our fingers. I look over at him, my eyes wide with terror. He’s talking to me, trying to give me reassurance. The only thing going through my mind right now is how afraid I am.
“Shhh, it’s going to be okay, Ali.” He has such a soothing voice when he’s not being an ass. I try to say something, but I can’t speak. Nothing will come out of my mouth.
“Focus on me.” His thumb strokes the back of my hand. It’s serene and has an instant calming effect on me until we hit another pocket of air. Images of the Captain fighting for dominance over the weather and control of the plane against the storm flash through my mind. I know he’s doing all he can so we don’t spiral downward.
Other passengers cry out in panic. My head jerks back toward the window. I can barely breathe. I don’t want him to see me like this - raw emotions, so vulnerable. Weak.
He places his hand on my face, turning it towards him. “Don’t cry. I’ve got you. Just keep looking at me, okay?” He’s trying to calm me but the only thing I can do is nod. I tighten my grip on his hand and he lets me know it’s all right.
My heart is beating so fast, so hard, I can feel it in my ears and can hear each beat. Tears roll down my face and he gently wipes them away with his thumb. In this moment, as much as I despise him, I’m glad he’s here with me.
“I need you to take deep breaths. Can you do that? Do what I do, okay?” I watch his mouth and listen. We hit another pocket of air, but not as violent as the others. My eyes grow wider as more tears stream down my face.
“I’m here. I’m not going to let anything happen to you. Keep looking at me. Ali, I need you to focus on me and listen. Breathe with me.” All the while, he’s still stroking my hand.
When my breathing gets under control, he leans over the armrest wrapping me in a blanket of calm in the comfort of his arms. I collapse into him. My cries are silent as he holds me and strokes my hair. He inhales deeply, gripping me tighter.


Natalie Money is a former corporate travel agent, a wife, and a cat wrangler. As far back as she can recall, she has always loved to people watch and make up stories about their lives. After many years of creating and getting to know the characters and their stories in her mind, she has finally decided to bring them to life on paper in her first novel, Closely Guarded Secret.

With her husbands job, they're known to relocate often, so when people ask where she lives, she describes herself as a World Citizen.

Thursday, September 26, 2013

.Live video chat with @LarissaIone @simonschuster @spreecast

Bound by Night (MoonBound Clan Vampires, #1)

Friday Sept 27, 2013 @ 4:00pm EST.  join Simon & Schuster on Spreecast with a live video chat with author Larissa Ione author of Bound by Night.
 Sign up for this free event and join in on the fun. Sign up below.







About BOUND BY NIGHT:
 
The first installment in The MoonBound Clan Vampires, a sexy paranormal romance series by Larissa Ione, New York Times bestselling author of the wildly popular Demonica series!
 
“The exceptionally entertaining Ione kicks off a sexy new vampire series that explores their struggle for survival and independence.  In this world, humans have kept vampires as slaves, but times are changing and vampires are rebelling—with violent consequences.  Ione does what she does best: deliver paranormal romance with a sexy and dangerous bite!”
RT Book Reviews, ****HOT
 

“ONE OF THE BEST PARANORMAL WRITERS IN THE BUSINESS TACKLES THE VAMPIRE WORLD…[BOUND BY NIGHT] is quite the interesting beginning to what looks to be a bit of a different take on vampire lore…the plotline is sound, as is the wordbuilding; and the series shows great promise to come into its own in future books…BOUND BY NIGHT is a fascinating read, and the series looks to be another winner for Larissa Ione.”

—Fresh Fiction
 
#1 New York Times bestselling author Larissa Ione’s bestselling Demonica series has captivated fans with its sensual blend of dark passion and demonic fury.  Ione’s first in the riveting MoonBound Clan Vampires series, BOUND BY NIGHT (Pocket Books; September 24, 2013; $7.99), takes readers to another intoxicating world—where a dangerous clan of wild vampires rules the night…
 
A WOMAN OUT FOR BLOOD: Nicole Martin was only eight years old when the vampire slaves rose up in rebellion and killed her family.  Now she devotes her life to finding a vaccine against vampirism, hoping to wipe out her memories—along with every blood-sucker on the planet.  But there’s one thing she cannot destroy: her searing, undeniable attraction for the one man she should hate and fear the most…
 
A VAMPIRE OUT FOR REVENGE: A member of the renegade vampire MoonBound Clan, Riker is haunted by demons of his own.  When he recognizes Nicole and remembers how her family enslaved his loved ones, his heart burns for vengeance.  But when he kidnaps Nicole and holds her in a secret lair, his mortal enemy becomes his soul obsession, his greatest temptation, and, perhaps, his only salvation—a hot-blooded lover who could heal him with her touch…or bury him forever.
 
“Fast.  Fresh.  Fabulously dark.  Vampire fans will devour Larissa Ione’s riveting BOUND BY NIGHT in one ravenous sitting!”
 
Larissa Ione welcomes visitors to www.larissaione.com.





Direct link to the event HERE




Wednesday, September 25, 2013

Tour #FROZEN Guest Post by @MelissadelaCruz @mrmikejohnston @PenguinTeen



Welcome to the Frozen blog tour! We at Penguin are thrilled to introduce the first book in the Heart of Dread series by Melissa de la Cruz and Michael Johnston. Follow along on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays for the next three weeks as Mel and Mike share their thoughts on everything from the end of the world to romantic partnerships they love (other than their own, of course!).


Frozen
By Melissa De La Cruz & Michael Johnston

Hardcover, 336 pages
Published September 17th 2013 by Putnam Juvenile

ISBN# 0399257543


Frozen Synopsis:
From New York Times bestselling author Melissa de la Cruz and Michael Johnston comes this remarkable first book in a spellbinding new series about the dawn of a new kind of magic. Welcome to New Vegas, a city once covered in bling, now blanketed in ice. Like much of the destroyed planet, the place knows only one temperature—freezing. But some things never change. The diamond in the ice desert is still a 24-hour hedonistic playground and nothing keeps the crowds away from the casino floors, never mind the rumors about sinister sorcery in its shadows.
At the heart of this city is Natasha Kestal, a young blackjack dealer looking for a way out. Like many, she's heard of a mythical land simply called “the Blue.” They say it’s a paradise, where the sun still shines and the waters are turquoise. More importantly, it’s a place where Nat won’t be persecuted, even if her darkest secret comes to light.
But passage to the Blue is treacherous, if not impossible, and her only shot is to bet on a ragtag crew of mercenaries led by a cocky runner named Ryan Wesson there. Danger and deceit await on every corner, even as Nat and Wes find themselves inexorably drawn to each other. But can true love survive the lies? Fiery hearts collide in this fantastic tale of the evil men do and the awesome power within us all.
 



Mel and Mike’s Guest Post:
It's the End of the World as We Know It
Melissa de la Cruz
One of the inspirations for FROZEN that Mike and I had was to imagine what the "end of the world" would look like, specifically, the end of civilization. We're both Roman history buffs, and we wanted to depict a new "Dark Ages"—what would the world look like after the American empire? One of the things that resonated with me was an article I read about how in China, the majority of readers don't read literature, instead the most popular books are called "corporate work novels," thinly veiled instructions on how to move up in the workforce. I couldn't imagine a sadder future. Imagine a world without books, without stories, without music, art and culture. To us, that would be the 'end of the world' for sure.
In FROZEN, culture has come to standstill, all the musicians are tribute bands, the only books that have survived are the ones that are still bound in paper. A technological disaster wiped out all the data, so all those ebooks vanished in a poof. J Those that are still around are called "reading based entertainment" (a term real publishers have bandied around lately). Studies have shown that when people receive most of their information from a visual medium like television and not from reading, their ability to think for themselves is lessened. When you read, it turns out, your brain is able to hold two opposing ideas in your head at the same time, you are better able to understand if someone is trying to manipulate you, you are able to remain skeptical.
Mike and I wanted to explore some of these ideas in our post-apocalyptic novel, because for us as writers, a cultural disaster is even more devastating than an environmental one.




About Melissa de la Cruz and Michael Johnston:
Melissa de la Cruz is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of many critically acclaimed and award-winning novels for teens including The Au Pairs series, the Blue Bloods series, the Ashleys series, and the Angels on Sunset Boulevard series. She has worked as a fashion and beauty editor and has written for many publications including The New York Times, Marie Claire, Harper's Bazaar, Glamour, Cosmopolitan, Allure, The San Francisco Chronicle, McSweeney's, Teen Vogue, CosmoGirl! and Seventeen. She has also appeared as an expert on fashion, trends and fame for CNN, E! and FoxNews. Michael Johnston is Melissa de la Cruz's husband and co-creator of the Blue Bloods and Witches of East End series, and the co-author of the Wolf Pact series.
Melissa and Michael collaborate in every capacity in crafting their books, from plot outlines to character sketches and dialogue, from first draft to final polish. They have a daughter and live in Los Angeles and Palm Springs. 



Follow along the Frozen blog tour to see all of Mel and Mike’s guest posts!

Saturday, September 7, 2013

#Giveaway Triangles by @KimberlyAnnNJ WIN A FRIKKIN' CRUISE! @SpencerHillP





The Triangles

Win a Frikkin' Cruise

Sweepstakes!!

The Grand Prize Winner gets to go on a cruise!

Two runners-up will win $50 gift cards from Amazon (in US) or Book Depository (Worldwide).


What do you do?  

Buy Triangles! 


 
A cruise ship. A beautiful island. Two sexy guys. What could possibly go wrong?

In the Bermuda Triangle—a lot.

Hoping to leave behind the reminders of her crappy life--her father's death years ago, her mother's medical problems, and the loser who’s practically stalking her--seventeen-year-old Autumn Taylor hops on a ship with her sister for a little distraction. When she wakes up in the Bermuda Triangle, she fears she's gone nuts for more than one reason: that loser’s suddenly claiming they're a happy couple... a hot guy is wrapping his arms around her and saying "Happy Anniversary"... and suddenly, she’s full of bruises, losing her hair, and getting IV medication. Autumn visits the ship's doctor, hoping for a pill or a shot to make the craziness go away. Instead, she's warned that these "alternate realities" could become permanent.

She just has to ask herself one question—how the hell is she going to get out of this mess? 




You do not have to purchase Triangles to enter this giveaway.  You can draw yourself with the book or you can use a library copy for the picture OR send receipt, pic with book, drawing with book, you get it the idea

with this form to Spencer Hill Press!  

They MUST have it by September 14th. 

Drawing on September 16th.






Friday, September 6, 2013

Blog Tour Between The Devil and the Deep Blue Sea by April Genevieve Tucholke @PenguinTeen @nightowlauthor

Welcome to my stop of Between The Devil and the Deep Blue Sea, a gothic thriller romance, that had some creepy, strange scenes. This book was so different and unique from anything I have ever read. Check out the trailer, and tell me your thoughts below... Will you read or have you read this book, and what are your thoughts on Gothic books?










Welcome to the last stop on the Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea blog tour. What better way to ring in the end of summer than this truly creepy (but also steamy!) debut from April Genevieve Tucholke?

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea Synopsis:
You stop fearing the devil when you’re holding his hand…Nothing much exciting rolls through Violet White’s sleepy, seaside town… until River West comes along. River rents the guest house behind Violet’s crumbling estate, and as eerie, grim things start to happen, Violet begins to wonder about the boy living in her backyard.

Is River just a crooked-smiling liar with pretty eyes and a mysterious past? Or could he be something more?
Violet’s grandmother always warned her about the Devil, but she never said he could be a dark-haired boy who takes naps in the sun, who likes coffee, who kisses you in a cemetery... who makes you want to kiss back.

Violet’s already so knee-deep in love, she can’t see straight. And that’s just how River likes it.
Blending faded decadence and the thrilling dread of gothic horror, April Genevieve Tucholke weaves a dreamy, twisting contemporary romance, as gorgeously told as it is terrifying—a debut to watch. 

April’s Guest Post:
Since I wrote a horror book, I thought I should talk about what scares me. It’s a long list. My imagination has always been very…active, and this is what gets to me:
The coyotes I see running through the streets near my house at night. The cougars I know are watching me from some hidden perch when I hike up in the mountains. Abandoned houses, ghost stories, leeches, clowns. Skeksis, swimming in the ocean, swimming in a quarry, the Apocalypse, zombies.

 This list of the creepiest things kids have said 
 and this video clip that inspired Guillermo del Toro’s Mama









A killer hiding in my backseat, aliens, being buried alive, getting lost in a cave like Tom Sawyer, Twin Peaks, heights, voodoo, rat hordes, freshly dug graves, rustling cornfields, E.T., the Overlook Hotel, Annie Wilkes, pets that come back to life, and buckets of pig’s blood.
I know I forgot a few things. I’m sure they will come to me, late tonight, when it’s dark and I’m trying to sleep…
About April Genevieve Tucholke:

April Genevieve Tucholke digs classic movies, redheaded villains, big kitchens, and discussing murder at the dinner table. She lives in Oregon at the edge of a forest. Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea is her first novel.
Follow along the Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea tour to see all of April’s responses!
Monday 8/19: Jean BookNerd
Wednesday 8/21: The YA Sisterhood
Friday 8/23: Good Choice Reading
Monday 8/26: Katie’s Book Blog
Wednesday 8/28: Books with Bite
Friday 8/30: Alice Marvels
Wednesday 9/4: The Midnight Garden

Thursday, August 29, 2013

.Book Blast #Giveaway Colour Wielders by @DawnaRaver




Behind the Faerying Mysts, hidden from Mortal eyes, is a land where gods and creatures of myth and legend dwell. And in the Mortal Realm, their Princess is hidden away.

Quinn Sinclair lives an ordinary life with her less-than-loving mother in Conifer, Colorado, clueless of her true nature. On the night of her birthday, a staggering betrayal sends her life spinning out-of-control. As she struggles to pick up the pieces, a vision of a man with haunting tourmaline-blue eyes begs her for help, and she is transported into a Magykal battle-forever changing her life.

Arik Morgaine-Demigod bad boy and outcast of the Magykal Realm-tried to avoid contact with Princess Quinn for eighteen years, not wanting to make good on an old threat. But the fates have other plans. Arik can no longer deny his growing desire for Quinn, or the need to protect her from those wanting to control her burgeoning powers. Can the two of them come together and save the Magykal Realm from being destroyed by the Darkest of Magyks?

New Adult. Recommended for 18 and above. Mature themes, sexual situations, and profanity.









Chapter One
Virgin Territory


Gentle fingertips grazed the edge of her jaw, trailing down her neck to her collarbone. His citrine gaze stared deeply into her eyes, and her body heated at his tender touch.

“You’re okay, yeah?” Thaene asked, his voice hoarse from their lovemaking.

Am I okay? She hardly knew. Though she had nothing to compare it to, this feeling was more than giving her virginity to him. Quinn felt like something bigger inside had stirred to life, wanting to escape.

“You know I love you. I’m sorry if it hurt.” He kissed her again, his lips caressing hers, as if he could take the ache away.

“Say something, Quinn. Please.”

“I love you, Thaene.” She pressed herself into him, passionately returning his affection. As their kiss continued, Quinn wondered if he wanted more. She also wondered if she had more to give.

“I want us together, always. Do you want that, Quinn?” Thaene’s eyes danced with a mixture of emotions—love, passion, possessiveness, and something else she couldn’t name.

“We can have forever. You want that, don’t you?” Thaene asked.

“Yes,” Quinn answered breathlessly, before realizing what she’d agreed to. She smiled, finding his need for her exciting.

“Forever is a long time. But I could do it with you.”

Thaene smiled back. Happiness lit his face. He looked like he’d just won a major prize—he looked triumphant.

“Being with you on your twenty-second birthday was very special to me. You’ve given me such a precious gift.”

“I love you. I can’t imagine my first time with anyone else.”

Besides, my gift of Sight showed you to me, over and over. How could I not give myself to you?

Her gift had shown her something else as well. Since she didn’t understand it, Quinn ignored it. She’d followed her heart where Thaene was concerned. Not even her mother’s dislike—or in spite of it— changed her mind. Following your heart always led you down the right path.

Thaene lightly brushed her hair from her face, then he rested his forehead on hers.

“There’s something else I’d like you to give me. Will you do that? Give me what I desire the most?”

The longing in his voice made Quinn squirm underneath him. Right now, she’d give him anything.

“It’s the most precious gift of all. One I’ll cherish forever.”

Oh my God. He wants to marry me.

“Yes,” Quinn said, drawing in a breath. “I’ll give you anything.”

“Good.” Thaene nuzzled her neck. “I want you to show me your Magyk.”

“What?” Quinn blinked at him, wondering if she’d heard him right.

“If you want us to have forever, you must show me your Magyk.”




Buy it...
Amazon † BN 





Want a Review copy? Colour Wielders is live at Story Cartel, available for download for review. Also each review is entered for a chance at 3 $10 Amazon Gift Certificates. :)









a Rafflecopter giveaway





Dawna Raver is an author of paranormal romance and urban fantasy. Colour Wielders, Book One, is her debut novel. When she's not spending time in her fantasy world, Dawna loves football, reading, and pretending she's a top chef in the kitchen. Oh, and fawning over her dogs and husband, sometimes in that order.

Contact me at:

Wednesday, August 14, 2013

Book Blast: #Giveaway Working It Out @RachaelReneeAnd




A chance encounter . . . Grace Warren's life is safe and predictable—exactly the way she likes it. But when she gets roped into going to an auction to help out a friend, everything changes. She meets Seth Tuttle—a guy who unexpectedly kisses her then disappears, leaving her flustered and upset. If she never sees him again, it will be too soon.
A chance for love . . .Weeks later, when Seth limps into Grace's rehab clinic post surgery, he's every bit as frustrating and annoying as she remembered. Yet there's something about him that makes her second-guess her carefully placed boundaries even though he's everything she's sure she doesn't want in a man. But maybe Seth is exactly what Grace has needed all along—assuming she's willing to risk safe and predictable for a chance at love  
 
Author Rachael Renee Anderson Rachael Anderson is the author of four books: Divinely Designed, Luck of the Draw, Minor Adjustments, and The Reluctant Bachelorette. She's the mother of four and is pretty good at breaking up fights, or at least sending guilty parties to their rooms. She can't sing, doesn't dance, and despises tragedies. But she recently figured out how yeast works and can now make homemade bread, which she is really good at eating.
 
Book Blast Special Price Drop!
Grab a copy of Working it Out for just $2.99!


price drop working

 




BookBlast Giveaway $50 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash Ends 9/6/13 a Rafflecopter giveaway   Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader, Not A Writer http://iamareader.com and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.